Valuable Lessons I Learned in Behavioral Neuroscience

1. Everything PSYCHOLOGICAL is BIOLOGICAL.

Behavioral Neuroscience explains behavior in neurobiological perspective and all our behaviors, thought processes, sensations and perceptions are biological in nature.
NeuroBanner

2. “Man is not just a psychosocial being. Man is basically a biological being.”

BIOPSYCHOSOCIAL MODEL
models-of-mental-health-illness-29-638

3. “When much is learned, much is expected.”

I learned a lot from my professors and classmates during my college years in UST. Since they imparted data-driven information, as Thomasians, we are expected to do our part, that is, to study well, and participate in the discussions. Studying Masters in Clinical Psychology in UST Graduate School is enjoyable especially when we are sharing our learning experiences with high spirited-professionals.

4. “Without neurotransmitters, you won’t have behavior.”

Given the chance to report on neurotransmitters, I wrote a poem entitled Loving my Neurotransmitters last January 22, 2015 and presented it during my neurotransmitters presentation last February 3, 2015.

You can view it in YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BFp-AmOUDUg

Loving My Neurotransmitter

5. “Nothing goes to the mind that did not go to the senses.”

We discussed the primary sensory areas, secondary areas, association areas and the neural pathways of learning, hunger, satiety, memory, cerebral lateralization and cerebral localization. It makes me appreciate the uniqueness of each individual.

Review with my study buddy
Review with my study buddy

6. “When you keep on doing something repetitive, the synaptic connections will be stronger.”

Ever wonder why our class subjects are interconnected and the topics are repetitive? This is to enhance the synaptic connections and to make sure that learning will occur.

7. Long Term Potentiation (Learning) is a product of repetitive activation of neural pathway.

I learned that if I really need to study for the exams, I need to read and analyze the lectures again and again so that the information from my short term memory (STM) will be converted to long term memory (LTM) via the hippocampus.

Bigstock-Hippocampus

8. “Positive and negative emotions must be regulated. If left uncontrolled, they will lead to irrational behavior.”

I learned that as future psychologists and clinicians, we need to know how to manage our emotions, and studying behavioral neuroscience will help us better understand our behavior in a biological perspective.

9. “Emotional brain must be controlled by the rational brain so that the behavior will become reasonable and acceptable to the society.”

When we view behaviors in a natural science perspective, we can recognize the uniqueness, strengths and weaknesses, of each person. As future psychologists, we need to understand behaviors biologically for us to describe, to explain, to predict and to control behavior.

franz

608130-16123-28

And for my friends, who are planning to take up Masters in Clinical Psychology, I highly recommend UST Graduate School and I will advise them to enroll in Behavioral Neuroscience class. The course is data-driven, and research oriented, and I will motivate them to do their thesis in natural science perspective.

© Jennifer Francia P. Villanueva, RPm

IMAGES from Google.

Leave a Reply

